Watson's Win Six Out of Eight Events

Watson's Win Six Out of Eight Events

Published on 23 March 2010

The Rowing Club not only organised this year's Scottish Schools' Head on the Forth and Clyde Canal, but also had a very successful day.

Despite a winter that meant much of the training has been indoors the club won six of the eight events.

Adam Johnston and Callum Stephen (both S5), Michael Walker and Callum McBrierty (both S6) and cox, Rebecca Moore (S1) won the School Boy Open Four and also won the St Mungo Cup for the fastest crew of the day.

Our U16 crew of Alex Frew, James Hassall and Ian Walker (all S4), Euan Marshall (S5) and Cameron Marshall (S1) won the U16 event and were the second fastest crew of the day.

The U14 boys’ quad of Hamish Duncan (S2), James Stevenson, Arsiney Morgunov, Peter Smith and cox, Katy McDonald (all S1) won their event, as did the U14 girls’ crew of Fiona Aird, Catherine Buchan, Ellie Brown, Eleanor Marlow and Ciara Hutchison Reid (all S1).

Rhona Findlay and Mairi Shepherd (both S6), Heather Dun and Sarah Duff (both S4) won the Open Girls’ event.

The most interesting result was the win for the U15 girls’ four of Joanna Tink, Emma Rankin, and Robyn Gillies (all S3) and Julie Stephen (S4) who not only won their event but also the Bob Neil trophy for the fastest girls' crew of the day, beating all the U16 and U18 crews.